Open Up

By Aaron Pazan

Open Up by The Brilliance

You heard the cry of our hearts
And You came down
Freely You gave us Your love
Showing us how

Make me an instrument of Your peace
Where there is hatred let me sow love
Where there is darkness let me shine light and
May Your love cause us to open up
Cause us to open up our hearts
May Your light cause us to shine so bright
That we bring hope into the dark

All that we do without love
It means nothing
Grant us the courage to give
As You’re calling

Make me an instrument of Your peace
Where there is hatred let me sow love
Where there is darkness let me shine light and
May Your love cause us to open up
Cause us to open up our hearts
May Your light cause us to shine so bright
That we bring hope into the dark

Hope for the hopeless, Your love is
Strength in our weakness, Your love is
May we love, as You love
Hope for the hopeless, Your love is
Strength in our weakness, Your love is
May we love, as You love
(As only You can love, oh God)
May we love, as You love
May we love, as You love

As humans we struggle with the ideas of worthiness, belonging, and love. We don’t know how to open up to people and tell them our story. Were scared of what their reaction is going to be when we tell them things that can’t be seen on just the surface level.

We need to realize that once we open up to people they will have a better understanding of where your coming from. vulnerability isn’t a sign of weakness but a sign of courage.  When you become honest with yourself you see things change both personally and with the people you tell your story too.

I know for me personally, opening up to people is difficult. I’m afraid there not going to think I’m worthy, belong, or most importantly love me anymore.

However that view is changing. I’m learning as I open up and tell my story to other people, there willing to walk besides me as I deal with things. There willing to look in me in the eye or text me and say “how are you doing?” Then they will flat-out tell me I’m lying when they can tell something isn’t right. Most importantly they still love me! 

With these people they see me as worthy, that I do belong and that they love me!

How will you open up to other people?

How will you love as He loved us?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

