God is Creating a New Thing

By Aaron Pazan

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19 

This Bible passage has come up for me a lot lately. At first I was annoyed that it kept popping up in my life at random time. But, then I realized there has to be a greater significance why.

I believe that God is calling each one of us to be doing something new. We must take time to sit in the silence between us and God in order to allow ourselves to truly listen to what God has to offer us. Henri Nouwen says it best I think. “The great spiritual task facing me is to so fully trust that I belong to God that I can be free in the world—free to speak even when my words are not received; free to act even when my actions are criticized, ridiculed, or considered useless…. I am convinced that I will truly be able to love the world when I fully believe that I am loved far beyond its boundaries.”

I know for me personally God is calling me to be an active of witness with my faith by using my voice and writing. I can see that God has given me the gift of writing to spread the gospel through issues of Social Justice involving those who have been marginalized by the church both inside and outside the churches walls. By using my talent of photography I can express the impact both positively and negatively the church has had on those who have been discriminated on for being a part of the marginalized  in a society where we strive to belong and feel like were normal.

As Easter people, our work isn’t just limited to one day a year. We must remember the rest of the Resurrection story as well. Sunday comes and we have a renewed sense of life and commitment. We forget about Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy Saturday. We must first reflect on the darkness and despair and try to understand what the disciples went through before and leading up to the death of Jesus. Out of the darkness we rise and greet the Easter morning ready to be filled with new and creative possibilities that we have never imagined before.

God is creating a new thing, can’t you see it? 

How will you allow God to create new things in your life? 

10007047_10203516975192183_4681973192580390157_n

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

