March 9th: Poor

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

When I heard and sang Oceans by Hillsong United this morning, I got vivid typhoon feels. Typhoon feels are an emotional reaction based on an experience you have had. Experiencing typhoon Glenda/Rammasun in the Philippines in 2014 has changed me. Once you’ve experienced a natural disaster it changes you. You understand what’s going through someones mind when they’ve experienced this horrific thing. You can see that tangible effects of what has happened. You can connect a face with a victim of the disaster.

We sang this song during the eye of the storm. A couple hundred of my new friends and I were experiencing what may have been our first typhoon. I picture us singing this song. I also picture our visit to parañaque a city in Manila, Philippines. It was a cultural immersion experience where we visited the poor and listened to them. We didn’t create new ministries for the poor. We saw what was already in place, because it was working and done by local people who knew the community.

I can still visualize to this day the children, some of who were skin and bone. I can see their happiness with so little: no clean water, bathrooms, and the unknown of when they would loose their house. It’s an image I will always remember. My experience with the poor always me to better understand what being poor in a third world country is like.

How have you interacted with the poor?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

