March 18th: Beloved

“Beloved, beloved, we are the children of God,
And it does not yet appear what we shall be;
But we know – that when God appears,
But we know – that when God appears,
We shall be like God
We shall be like God
We shall see God, face to face.”

These words come from the Bishop’s Hymn. The pre conference handbook states “This hymn, written by George Robinson of the 19th century was first used in the Pacific Northwest Annual Conference under the leadership of Bishop Titus Lowe. It became the hymn to sing In welcoming each bishop of the Church who serves here. And, it has been sung in confident faith at the retirement celebration of the clergy each year. Text amended to be inclusive.”

The first time I heard the hymn was in 2010 at Annual Conference. Honestly, I thought this hymn was weird, the tune was out dated. The more I sung this sung, the more my view changed on this song. I have grown to love this hymn for so many reasons.

I love that it comes directly from scripture 1 John 3:2 to be exact. This song reminds me that I am beloved and a child of God. There’s just something about hearing over 200 United Methodists sing that we are beloved and children of God, it warms your heart. This song reminds me that we are created in God’s image. That when God appears we shall be like him. I think the thing I like most about this song is when we sing it at two different times during Annual Conference; one when we welcome the bishop each year who is serving us and two when we sing this song to honor the retiring pastors. This song reminds us that even in our flaws we are beloved children of God.

Beloved, beloved, we are the children of God.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

